“The Fierce Imagination of Haruki Murakami”

Haruki Murakami (from The New York Times)

Every year, I get excited about a few books.  Usually a new Stephen King release, a couple of literary works, maybe one or two China-related non-fiction pieces.  But rarely do I get myself worked up years in advance.

Haruki Murakami’s 1Q84 is the exception.  I’ve been itching to get my grubby paws on this one since even before it was released in Japan two years ago.  And now I’ve got a copy in my hands and a few days this week to dive in.  It’s a behemoth – 900+ pages – and I’m going to savor every page.

If you haven’t already got your copy of 1Q84 (or even if you have), take a jump over to last weeks The New York Times Sunday Magazine.  There’s a wonderful piece on Murakami, his process, and his imagination.  It has a particularly interesting section on Murakami’s work in translation.

13 comments

  1. Hi Pete, got both books 1&2 and book3 and have restrained myself from jumping straight in & am savoring them, as to their size at the,moment they’re doubling up as spare beds with a quilt thrown over. Also thinking of getting E-book versions as they’re to big to haul around on my commute to work.

    1. I’ve got the e-book version as I don’t want to give myself a hernia every time I move from room to room. I haven’t started them yet either, short of reading the first few paragraphs. Waiting until I have a good four or five hour block to just immerse myself.

  2. Thanks for the link, Pete. In the Netherlands, book 1 and 2 of 1Q84 have been out for more than a year and somehow I haven’t felt the need to pick it up yet, although I do consider myself a Murakami fan. Not sure why.

    I hope you enjoy it a lot. It IS on my list to be read soon.

  3. Thanks for the article link, it was the highlight of my day. I’ve not read anything so detailed about Murakami yet so it was very enlightening. Like Leeswammes I have also to get the books, even though I am a fan. Great to know they will be whackier than his other novels!

  4. Speaking of new Stephen King releases I am a 1/3 of the way into his new one “11/22/63” and it’s outstanding so far. Was wondering if you had started it/were reading it.

  5. Thanks for the link. You always have the good stuff. BTW I cannot stop noticing barking dogs in literature, and that is your fault. Worse yet, I now notice how many barking dogs there are in the distance on many, many television shows. I have a stack of Murakami books waiting for my December holiday vacation, which I am looking forward to with relish…

  6. Although I’ve the hardback copies I’ve also purchased versions for my Kindle for ease of reading.

    Hope your Xmas went well & best wishes for the coming year.

    1. I’ll be really curious as to what you think about this because my reaction was not at all what I had expected…

      Thanks for the wishes Parrish! I’ve been a bit absent as of late but I hope to be a bit more of an active blogger in 2012. Happy New Year to you and yours!

Leave a Reply

