Notes From a Lapsed Blogger

When I started up this blog a bit more than two years ago, I envisioned a little space where I could ponder whatever I happened to be reading, hopefully engage in some stimulating discourse, and meet a few new cyber-pals along the way.  At the time, I knew that the only way for this to work was if I was committed – regular posts, replying to comments, actively engaging with other bloggers, etc. – all the Blogging:101 stuff you find if you query Google about how to have a successful blog.   I found that it was hard work – for me at least, the words don’t flow from my finger tips.  There’s always been a good deal of prevaricating, writing, rewriting, deleting, writing a few words, running off for a snack, forgetting what I had written, starting over.   But, as with any hobby, you keep at it because the pay-off is worth the effort.   I met interesting people, had intelligent conversations, and, most importantly, was motivated to read more. I suspect this is why most bloggers keep at it.

And then life changes and priorities shift.  As with any hobby that requires a bit of effort, it’s easy to let it go.  And, once you do, it becomes harder and harder to pick it up again.  And that’s where I find myself now – I haven’t posted a word in two months and have, for all intents and purposes, dropped off the face of the blogosphere. Which is not to say that I haven’t thought about getting it back up again.  Every time I read pick up a book, I find things that I would like to write about.  The effort required to do so, however, just seems greater and greater the more time goes by.

The good thing about blogging as a hobby, though, is that the internet never really lets you forget that your space is still out there and that the conversations you long to be part of are still going on.   They’re going along just fine without you (“you” meaning “me” in this case) and will continue to do so, but…they’re still there.  You can be a part of them again if you can muster up the commitment and dedication to participate.

A single, unexpected comment about a year-old post landing in your email box can be a very persuasive reminder of the reasons you took up blogging in the first place.   A shared opinion about a writer or an argumentative, yet intellectual challenge – it doesn’t so much matter the content just that there are people out there who are willing to engage on a subject of mutual interest.   This is a powerful motivator, one that can easily nudge a lapsed blogger back into writing.

 

 

 

6 comments

  1. Glad to see you back & I agree that at times this Blogging malarkey is hard work & a break is sometimes the only answer, or it turns a hobby into a chore, which is not the reason we do this, love the dialogue & all that makes up Blogging which is the reason to keep going. Hope to hear what you’re reading soon.

  2. I agree with parrish and once a hobby becomes a chore it’s time to take a break and try to remember why you started in the first place. If you do decide it’s time to come back, I look forward to hearing about your reading.

  3. Thanks Parrish and Alley! I wouldn’t say that it became a chore – it became one of those things that was always the “next thing” I was going to do. For me, a chore is something that I just flat-out dislike, and that never occurred with blogging. But I do miss it very much and plan to be active again.

Leave a Reply

